reviews

Wait! Where did my Google reviews go?

If you have recently searched Google to admire your Google+ page, don’t be alarmed if you can’t find your Google reviews.  This is probably a little frightening if you are one of the proactive marketers who work hard to generate positive reviews from customers.

However, do not worry.  Your reviews are still there, just in a different place.

As we have mentioned quite frequently lately, Google has made significant modifications to its Google+ page layout. One of these changes is where your business reviews are located.

For us marketing folks, the question is not “Where are your reviews located?”  It is, “What version of Google+ are viewers seeing and how do we adapt the reviews to that view?”

Reviews on the Classic Google+ page

If you are searching for your business with the “Classic” G+, your business reviews are located on your About page. They are easy to find and simple for customers to review your company. Unfortunately, this page will be completely transformed when Google officially changes its layout in the near future.  There are no changes to be made on our end, or yours if you are responsible for seeking out customer reviews. Just keep doing what you are doing.

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 3.29.42 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 3.30.40 PM

Reviews on the New Google+

. . . are no longer there.   If you happen to be viewing your business’ G+ page from the New Google+ format, Google has completely removed reviews from this new layout.  This was done to make the New G+ more socially focused and compete with Facebook and Pinterest.  Interestingly, Facebook is working to enhance its reviews capabilities, so we we are wondering if the Google gurus have really thought this change through.

On the New Google+ interface, reviews will be located on your business’ Google maps listing. This change actually makes sense, and in the long run, should be better for businesses.  As mobile search continues to take over the online presence landscape, Google is jockeying to ensure its Google Maps remains supreme.  In 2015, 29% of internet searches were conducted via cell or mobile tablet, and Google says this number is continuing to rise.

Moving customer reviews to the Google Maps listing will yield a few key results:

  • Ensure that the quantity and quality of reviews will have a direct impact on where your business ranks on the Google Map.  This means you need to keep asking for reviews.
  • Tie the map to reviews, which will directly influence consumers’ purchasing decisions.  
  • Keep Google Maps as a competitive entity as Apple aggressively works to wipe Google off the mobile search “map.”

Still looking for your reviews on the new G+?

Check out your listing on Google Maps. Click on the review stars under your listing and you will be taken to the Maps page.

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 3.39.19 PM

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Wait! Where did my Google reviews go?

  1. Pingback: Anonymous

Add a comment

Schedule your free marketing audit + consultation

We would love to conduct a marketing audit of your current website effectiveness and SEO ranking, local business listings, social media, online reviews and more - at no charge. Then, we’ll get together to discuss our findings and make a few recommendations to more effectively market your brand and get customers.



Whiteboard Marketing

Whiteboard Marketing

5950 Venture Dr.
Dublin, OH 43017

614.562.1912

info@whiteboard-mktg.com

Google PartnerYext CertifiedPartner Seal
Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

3 days ago

This week our CEO, Sean White, had the pleasure of sharing his success story with the amazing students in the Entrepreneurship class at Bishop Watterson High School. Sean started Whiteboard by himself in 2008 and turned it into something truly special! ... See MoreSee Less

This week our CEO, Sean White, had the pleasure of sharing his success story with the amazing students in the Entrepreneurship class at Bishop Watterson High School. Sean started Whiteboard by himself in 2008 and turned it into something truly special!Image attachment

Comment on Facebook

I hear this the man to listen to...nice job Sean.

Stud!

2 weeks ago

We celebrated our quarterly birthdays and work anniversaries with a lunchtime appetizer party. From cowboy caviar to Skyline Chili dip, it's safe to say our celebration was a success! ... See MoreSee Less

We celebrated our quarterly birthdays and work anniversaries with a lunchtime appetizer party. From cowboy caviar to Skyline Chili dip, its safe to say our celebration was a success!Image attachmentImage attachment

2 weeks ago

Though we are sad to see her leave, we couldn't be prouder of our Digital Marketing Specialist, Christi Richter. She is going to serve as a full-time Public Affairs Specialist for the Air National Guard until she will eventually commission as a Public Affairs Officer. We wish her all the best in her next adventure! ... See MoreSee Less

Though we are sad to see her leave, we couldnt be prouder of our Digital Marketing Specialist, Christi. She is going to serve as a full-time Public Affairs Specialist for the Air National Guard until she will eventually commission as a Public Affairs Officer. We wish her all the best in her next adventure!Image attachment

2 weeks ago

Welcome to the Whiteboard family, baby Jett! ... See MoreSee Less

Welcome to the Whiteboard family, baby Jett!

3 weeks ago

... See MoreSee Less

Load more