reviews

Wait! Where did my Google reviews go?

If you have recently searched Google to admire your Google+ page, don’t be alarmed if you can’t find your Google reviews.  This is probably a little frightening if you are one of the proactive marketers who work hard to generate positive reviews from customers.

However, do not worry.  Your reviews are still there, just in a different place.

As we have mentioned quite frequently lately, Google has made significant modifications to its Google+ page layout. One of these changes is where your business reviews are located.

For us marketing folks, the question is not “Where are your reviews located?”  It is, “What version of Google+ are viewers seeing and how do we adapt the reviews to that view?”

Reviews on the Classic Google+ page

If you are searching for your business with the “Classic” G+, your business reviews are located on your About page. They are easy to find and simple for customers to review your company. Unfortunately, this page will be completely transformed when Google officially changes its layout in the near future.  There are no changes to be made on our end, or yours if you are responsible for seeking out customer reviews. Just keep doing what you are doing.

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 3.29.42 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 3.30.40 PM

Reviews on the New Google+

. . . are no longer there.   If you happen to be viewing your business’ G+ page from the New Google+ format, Google has completely removed reviews from this new layout.  This was done to make the New G+ more socially focused and compete with Facebook and Pinterest.  Interestingly, Facebook is working to enhance its reviews capabilities, so we we are wondering if the Google gurus have really thought this change through.

On the New Google+ interface, reviews will be located on your business’ Google maps listing. This change actually makes sense, and in the long run, should be better for businesses.  As mobile search continues to take over the online presence landscape, Google is jockeying to ensure its Google Maps remains supreme.  In 2015, 29% of internet searches were conducted via cell or mobile tablet, and Google says this number is continuing to rise.

Moving customer reviews to the Google Maps listing will yield a few key results:

  • Ensure that the quantity and quality of reviews will have a direct impact on where your business ranks on the Google Map.  This means you need to keep asking for reviews.
  • Tie the map to reviews, which will directly influence consumers’ purchasing decisions.  
  • Keep Google Maps as a competitive entity as Apple aggressively works to wipe Google off the mobile search “map.”

Still looking for your reviews on the new G+?

Check out your listing on Google Maps. Click on the review stars under your listing and you will be taken to the Maps page.

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 3.39.19 PM

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Wait! Where did my Google reviews go?

  1. Pingback: Anonymous

Add a comment

Schedule your free marketing audit + consultation

We would love to conduct a marketing audit of your current website effectiveness and SEO ranking, local business listings, social media, online reviews and more - at no charge. Then, we’ll get together to discuss our findings and make a few recommendations to more effectively market your brand and get customers.



Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

3 days ago

#InThisTogether ... See MoreSee Less

#InThisTogether

3 days ago

Social distancing isn't always easy, but don't forget that you can still be social from a distance! Try forming a virtual book club with friends, or writing a thoughtful letter to a loved one. Comment some activities you've been doing to keep yourself busy. ... See MoreSee Less

Social distancing isnt always easy, but dont forget that you can still be social from a distance! Try forming a virtual book club with friends, or writing a thoughtful letter to a loved one. Comment some activities youve been doing to keep yourself busy.

4 days ago

A special thank you to Dr. Ellen Zwick of Logan Dental Care and Champaign Dental Group for the generous donation to The Brian Muha Memorial Foundation, Inc./The Run The Race Club! Your gift bags mean so much to those receiving them. ... See MoreSee Less

A special thank you to Dr. Ellen Zwick of Logan Dental Care and Champaign Dental Group for the generous donation to The Brian Muha Memorial Foundation, Inc./The Run The Race Club! Your gift bags mean so much to those receiving them.Image attachment

Comment on Facebook

Dr. Ellen Zwick is such a kind, caring person!!

5 days ago

Giving back to our community is important now more than ever, which is why our team has been busy putting together donations for The Brian Muha Memorial Foundation, Inc./The Run The Race Club. This is a foundation that offers enrichment opportunities for children and young people, and we encourage other locals to consider making your own donations.

Our "snack bags" include small treats and a thoughtful note, but feel free to add easy reading books for young readers, or even a few joke print outs. Donations can be dropped off directly at the center, located at 880 S. Wayne Ave. Email BrianMuhaFoundation@hotmail.com to ensure someone will be there to receive your donation! For more information on The Brian Muha Memorial Foundation, visit www.brianmuhafoundation.org
... See MoreSee Less

Giving back to our community is important now more than ever, which is why our team has been busy putting together donations for The Brian Muha Memorial Foundation, Inc./The Run The Race Club. This is a foundation that offers enrichment opportunities for children and young people, and we encourage other locals to consider making your own donations. Our snack bags include small treats and a thoughtful note, but feel free to add easy reading books for young readers, or even a few joke print outs. Donations can be dropped off directly at the center, located at 880 S. Wayne Ave. Email BrianMuhaFoundation@hotmail.com to ensure someone will be there to receive your donation! For more information on The Brian Muha Memorial Foundation, visit www.brianmuhafoundation.orgImage attachmentImage attachment

Comment on Facebook

I love this! Thank you - you all are generous, wonderful people and we love you. God bless you.

Simply AWESOME!!!!

Yep!! WhiteBoard Marketing ....Awesome company!!

6 days ago

It isn't too early to start planning your post-COVID communication and production strategy. Our most recent blog offers several ways to ensure your practice is back to normal as quickly as possible once the "air clears." bit.ly/2y3CdtH ... See MoreSee Less

It isnt too early to start planning your post-COVID communication and production strategy. Our most recent blog offers several ways to ensure your practice is back to normal as quickly as possible once the air clears. https://bit.ly/2y3CdtH
Load more